On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can the quilt expression 720 meet a computerized ordinary-sewing brief with integrated IDT, 250 mm of needle-to-tower room and 9 mm stitch width?
Yes for its documented single-needle sewing plans. The manufacturer lists the sewing width and workspace, and the family guide explains IDT. That does not turn the machine into a longarm or an embroidery machine.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I sew with the pedal disconnected and still set a separate maximum speed?
Yes. The shared model guide explicitly documents Start/Stop without the foot control and a separate maximum-speed slider. The exact current page lists the machine at up to 1,050 stitches per minute; this machine ceiling is not a project recommendation.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the exact 720 have an automatically completing one-step Sensormatic buttonhole up to 50 mm, plus a separate thread-snips control?
Yes. The manual limits the automatic Sensormatic 5A routine to 50 mm and describes the longer 5M option as manual four-step; the snips control cuts needle and bobbin threads separately.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the 720 store stitch combinations and use built-in sewing lettering, including custom stitch design?
Yes for single-needle sewing. The guide documents sequence storage up to 99 stitches/about 500 mm, four sewing fonts on the current page, and Stitch Creator as a 720-only feature. These are sewing functions, not motorized embroidery.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the current model page establish both a supplied extension table and a separate walking-foot attachment?
No. The itemized current U.S. package does not establish either item. Integrated IDT is an internal feed system, not a supplied walking-foot attachment; verify any dealer-added bundle in writing.
Explore this need in the finder →The PFAFF quilt expression 720 is a computerized sewing machine for quilters who want a broad stitch library, quilt-specific programs and a roomy flatbed. The exact U.S. listing identifies SKU 850350112; this is not PFAFF’s motorized-hoop embroidery model. Its distinguishing features include integrated IDT, 250 mm needle-to-tower space, 9 mm maximum stitch width, and the 720-only Stitch Creator and patchwork programs.
Quilt piecing and larger flatbed work
The 250 mm (about 9.8 in) needle-to-tower opening gives folded quilt sections, garment pieces and home-decor panels room to the right of the needle. The manufacturer’s 720 straight-stitch plate supports fabric nearer the opening during piecing. The machine is still domestic, not a longarm; a stable surface and careful fabric support matter.
Original IDT is PFAFF’s integrated upper feed working with the lower feed dogs. It is different from adding a detachable walking-foot attachment and is useful when keeping layers moving together is part of your routine. It cannot guarantee trouble-free seams through every batting thickness or bulky intersection. The exact package lists several presser feet and the guide requires compatible feet to engage IDT; check your intended fabric and foot combination rather than assuming every accessory works with the feed system.
More than a fixed decorative-stitch menu
The U.S. page lists 428 stitches, four sewing fonts, up to 9 mm stitch width and 6 mm stitch length. The 3.5-inch color screen presents selections and settings. The shared guide identifies Stitch Creator as exclusive to the 720: you can change stitch points in a 9 mm field and create a new stitch. Its patchwork program records a seam length to repeat. These tools reward quilters who will use custom stitches and repeatable piecing, but add menus for someone who mostly sews straight seams.
Stitch sequencing combines stitches and built-in letters; the guide caps a sequence at about 500 mm and 99 stitches. The machine’s four fonts are sewn lettering, not proof of a motorized embroidery unit. For free-motion work the guide describes three modes and says the 720 lowers the feed dogs automatically; it also says to disengage IDT and move the fabric by hand. That is a hands-guided sewing technique, not hoop embroidery or a substitute for a dedicated longarm.
Controls, buttonholes and thread handling
You can use the included foot control or disconnect it and sew with the Start/Stop button. A separate digital speed control sets a maximum pace, and the current product page publishes a top speed of 1,050 stitches per minute. That is a ceiling, not a recommended speed for every seam. Needle up/down, an electronic knee lift, a built-in needle threader and a bobbin sensor are also listed. The exact page gives a 3.5-inch screen; the shared guide explains the button controls but is older than the current product-page package.
For buttonholes, the guide distinguishes an automatic Sensormatic foot 5A for buttonholes up to 50 mm from a manual four-step routine with foot 5M for longer openings. That length distinction is important if you sew oversized buttons: do not assume a long buttonhole is automatic. The separate thread-snips control cuts both needle and bobbin thread, including after completing the stitch when used while sewing. The manual’s thread snips and the buttonhole’s stopping sequence are different operations; use the test piece and stitch-specific recommendations before trusting a new fabric or thread.
What the package does and does not settle
The exact U.S. listing advertises 25 accessories and includes a knee lift and the straight-stitch plate for this model. The itemized list does not establish a separate walking foot or extension table. IDT is built into the machine, but it should not be described as a supplied walking-foot attachment. PFAFF sells through dealers, and a retailer may add or change bundle items, so request the seller’s exact written package if a table or specialty foot is essential.
The manual recommends regular lint removal and says no oiling is needed. It also cautions that equipment and accessory assortments can change. The reviewed listing and guide do not settle machine-only weight or body dimensions, and neither is used to match a portability requirement. Availability and dealer price were not verified. Ask the local authorized seller about service and the actual box before treating the listing as a promise of stock.
Who should compare another PFAFF
Choose it if you will use IDT, the screen tools and its quilt-specific programs regularly. For basic garment repair, a simpler computerized machine may be easier. Compare the 725 and expression models by their exact controls and packages; a shared manual does not make 710 and 720 interchangeable. If hoop embroidery is essential, select an exact PFAFF sewing-and-embroidery model with a documented unit and hoop. This is a manufacturer-source assessment, not hands-on testing.
Sources: exact U.S. PFAFF quilt expression 720 listing (SKU 850350112); the PFAFF U.S. directory card on page 2; and the shared official Expression Line manual (printed pages 1:8, 1:10, 1:12, 2:6, 2:8, 3:7, 4:8–4:18, 5:2–5:6, 6:1–6:2, and 8:2). The exact official image’s pixels were inspected; the maker does not disclose whether the image is a photograph or render. The guide is shared with expression 710; 720-only features are identified as such in the manual. Current dealer stock, price, machine-only dimensions/weight, and bundle variation remain unverified. Reviewed October 26, 2026; manufacturer-source assessment only, no hands-on claim.
Key details at a glance
| Motor and stitch controls | Computerized color-touchscreen machine; exact product page lists built-in needle threader, needle up/down, Start/Stop and digital speed control. The manual documents that Start/Stop works without the foot control. Needle threader operating type is not specified in reviewed source detail. |
|---|---|
| Stitch choices and limits | Current exact U.S. listing says 428 stitches and four sewing fonts. Stitch Creator is explicitly a 720-only guide feature; its field is 9 mm wide and up to 6 mm stitch length. Manual sequences may contain up to 99 stitches/commands and be approximately 500 mm long. Fonts and stitch total are not combined into an assumed total. |
| Buttonhole routine | Manual documents automatic Sensormatic 5A buttonholes up to 50 mm, and longer buttonholes sewn manually in four steps with foot 5M. Buttonhole count and longer-hole maximum remain unknown. |
| Supplied tools and fabric support | The exact current U.S. page lists 25 accessories and identifies the 720 knee lift and straight-stitch plate; a separate walking foot and extension table are not identified in the itemized list. Dealer-specific additions and actual box should be checked. |
| Needle setups, cutting and memory | This exact SKU is a household sewing machine. Stitch Creator, sewing fonts and free-motion embroidery-style work do not establish a motorized hoop; no embroidery, overlock, coverstitch or longarm plan is represented. |
| Presser-foot pressure | Adjustable presser-foot pressure is not established in the reviewed exact-page/manual passages; unknown cannot meet an essential request. |
More specifications and setup details
| Cleaning and lubrication | Manual says clean lint often and no lubrication/oiling is needed; it advises against solvents/cleaners on the machine. |
|---|
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Exact current U.S. PFAFF quilt expression 720 product page, SKU 850350112; current product specifications, capability and itemized listing
- Exact current U.S. PFAFF all-machines directory page 2; observed quilt expression 720 card
- Official English PFAFF Expression Line manual shared by quilt expression 720 and expression 710; 90-page original PDF
- Exact official main product image linked from the U.S. PFAFF quilt expression 720 listing
Choose the operating routine that suits your work.
Start with whether you sew, embroider, serge or coverstitch, then compare controls, working area, supplied tools and setup limits.
