Model assessment · PFAFF

PFAFF performance icon review

A computerized, sewing-only household machine with 522 listed stitches, a 310 mm sewing opening, Original IDT and stitch editing.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

PFAFF performance icon sewing machine needle area, presser-foot assembly and teal-and-white casing.
Image source and model notes
Official PFAFF performance icon close-up from the exact U.S. product page. The manufacturer does not disclose photograph-versus-render method; this is a detail image, not a hands-on or dealer-bundle depiction. PFAFF / SVP Worldwide; image creator not identified
A useful fit for

For a home sewist who will use a large domestic sewing opening, integrated dual feed, customized 9 mm stitches, touchscreen help or pedal-free sewing controls.

The main tradeoff

The machine has no documented motorized-hoop embroidery plan. It is large and feature-dense; the product page and guide conflict on machine-only weight and dimensions, so those values stay unscored. Confirm the seller package and dealer service before purchase.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I sew without the foot control and still set a separate maximum sewing speed?

Yes. The model guide explicitly describes Start/Stop sewing without the foot control and a speed lever that sets maximum sewing speed. The pedal and button are distinct documented ways to operate this same household sewing machine.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require both the documented one-step Sensormatic buttonhole and automatic finishing/thread cutting?

Yes. The official page lists the Sensormatic foot; the model guide says the one-step buttonhole completes automatically and cuts the threads. The page also lists a separate manual-buttonhole foot.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the current U.S. listing support ordinary computerized sewing with 9 mm stitches, a 310 mm opening and integrated dual feed?

Yes. Those are listing-level specifications for the same sewing-only machine; the model guide independently explains the IDT feed system. Stitch total and machine weight are not used as quality or size proxies.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use this exact machine for stored-design embroidery in a motorized hoop?

No. The product is listed as a household sewing machine, and neither its exact current package nor its model guide establishes a motorized unit or hoop. Stitch lettering, Wi-Fi, an embroidery/free-motion presser foot or a connection to an embroidery library is not hoop embroidery.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the maker evidence establish that the machine weighs no more than 14.5 kg?

No. The exact product page says 15.5 kg while the model guide says 14.5 kg machine-only. Until PFAFF reconciles the figures, weight is unknown to the matcher and this essential maximum cannot pass.

Explore this need in the finder →

The PFAFF performance icon makes sense for a sewer who wants a large, feature-rich domestic machine for quilting, garment construction and decorative stitching—not for someone shopping for hoop embroidery. The current U.S. page identifies SKU 850222112 and lists 522 stitches, six sewing fonts, a 9 mm stitch width and a 310 mm opening from the needle to the tower. PFAFF’s model-specific guide confirms a start/stop button that works without the foot control and a slider that sets maximum sewing speed.

Room and feed for big flatbed projects

The 310 mm (12.2-inch) needle-to-tower space and 140 mm (5.5-inch) height give quilt blocks, garment panels and home-decor pieces more room to sit to the right of the needle than on a compact household machine. That opening helps with fabric management; it does not support a quilt by itself or turn the machine into a longarm. You still need a stable table, careful project handling and suitable needles, feet and stabilizers. The supplied knee lift and extra presser-foot lift are practical details for keeping both hands on bulky layers while positioning them.

Original IDT is an integrated upper-feed system used with the lower feed dogs. The guide describes feeding from both sides and recommends compatible feet with the IDT cutout. That is genuinely different from buying a separate walking foot, and PFAFF’s current accessory list does not identify a standalone walking foot. IDT can help keep layers aligned, but it cannot guarantee a perfect result with every knit, batting or thick seam crossing; test the actual fabric stack and follow the machine’s foot and stabilizer recommendations.

Computerized sewing that is customizable

The manufacturer lists 522 stitches and six sewing fonts, with up to 9 mm width and 5 mm length. Stitch Creator can draw or alter stitches within a 9 mm field; Sequence Creator combines stitches and letters into a custom sequence. Those options reward someone who will explore on-screen editing and save useful designs. If you only need a dependable straight seam, this depth of menus and touch-screen navigation may be unnecessary complexity.

ActivStitch is the model’s other distinctive sewing feature. The user guide explains that the machine chooses between thread metering and thread tension based on the selected stitch and settings; thread metering measures fabric thickness to feed an appropriate amount of thread. This is an assistive system, not a guarantee of balanced stitches with every specialty thread. PFAFF’s own guide says to deselect it for techniques or accessories that do not support thread metering, so owners still need to understand the screen’s recommendations and test unusual materials.

Control, buttonholes and daily workflow

The 10.1-inch color multi-touch screen puts the stitch library, built-in help and project tutorials in one interface. If you prefer not to operate the machine with a foot pedal, the model guide explicitly says the Start/Stop button starts and stops sewing without the foot control. A separate speed lever sets the maximum sewing speed and shows the selected level on screen. The U.S. page and guide both specify a 1,050-stitches-per-minute maximum; that is the machine’s published ceiling, not a promise that every project should be sewn at that pace.

PFAFF lists both a Sensormatic one-step buttonhole foot and a manual buttonhole foot. The guide says a Sensormatic buttonhole finishes automatically and cuts its threads. The automatic cutter also handles programmed cut commands, though the guide warns against using it with certain accessories attached in the needle plate.

Check the bundle and the size details

The current product page advertises 35 accessories and itemizes a group that includes the knee lift, several IDT-compatible feet, a straight-stitch needle plate, bobbins, spool fittings, foot control, cord and basic tools. The exact dealer box should still be confirmed in writing if a particular accessory is essential. An extension table is not shown in the maker’s itemized list. PFAFF says the machine needs no lubrication and recommends regular lint cleaning, rather than blowing dust into the bobbin area. Also note a source discrepancy before using size or weight as a deciding filter: the U.S. product page states 15.5 kg and 60 × 22 × 35 cm, while the model guide gives 14.5 kg and 590 × 220 × 400 mm. Those measurements are not reconciled, so confirm the machine-only weight and footprint with PFAFF or the seller; the finder does not use either disputed value as a hard match.

Choose the right kind of PFAFF

Consider the performance icon if you expect to use the large sewing area, IDT, stitch editing and extensive touchscreen help regularly, and if you like having both pedal and button-based control. Compare the expression 710 or 715 if you want a PFAFF sewing-only machine with a smaller sewing opening. If motorized-hoop embroidery is essential, look instead at a specific sewing-and-embroidery configuration such as PFAFF creative performance 950 or creative icon 2, and verify the included embroidery unit and hoops: Wi-Fi or a decorative presser foot alone is not hoop embroidery. For occasional mending, a simpler computerized machine may provide the useful essentials with less setup to learn. This assessment is based on manufacturer materials, not hands-on sewing or independent stitch testing.

Sources: the exact U.S. PFAFF performance icon product page, the current PFAFF directory card, and its model-specific 130-page user guide (notably printed pages 12, 24, 41, 70, 83, 100 and 120–125). Its official image is linked from the product page and visually checked; the manufacturer does not identify it as a photograph or a render. The page and guide disagree on machine-only weight and dimensions, which are left unscored. Reviewed October 25, 2026; manufacturer material only, no hands-on claim.

Key details at a glance

Motor and stitch controlsThe exact official guide says the Start/Stop control starts and stops machine sewing without the foot control (printed p. 12). A distinct speed-control lever sets maximum sewing speed (p. 24). Separate operating plans are recorded for foot-control and button operation.
Stitch choices and limitsThe exact current U.S. product page lists 522 stitches, six sewing fonts, maximum 9 mm stitch width and maximum 5 mm stitch length. It does not clarify whether the stitch total includes fonts, so the aggregate-with-fonts field stays unknown. Stitch Creator operates within a 9 mm field and Sequence Creator supports sequences up to 199 stitches/commands and approximately 500 mm (manual pp. 90, 99–100).
Buttonhole routineThe exact product page lists both Sensormatic one-step and manual buttonhole feet. The guide says Sensormatic buttonholes complete automatically and cut threads (p. 83). It does not state a numerical maximum buttonhole length.
Supplied tools and fabric supportThe product page advertises 35 accessories and gives a current accessory list, while the model guide’s included-accessories section enumerates a different base set. A dealer-specific package may differ. The current product page does not list an extension table or separate walking foot; neither is marked as supplied. The machine-only weight/dimension conflict is kept separate from the package question.
Needle setups, cutting and memoryThe exact product is titled and listed as a sewing machine, SKU 850222112; its current U.S. accessory list and model guide do not identify a motorized embroidery unit or hoop. Wi-Fi, sewing fonts, decorative stitches, the 6A embroidery/free-motion foot and the connected embroidery library do not establish hoop embroidery. It has only the ordinary household sewing plan(s) below.
Cleaning and lubricationThe exact guide states no lubrication/oiling is needed and instructs regular cleaning of the bobbin area; it cautions against blowing air into that area (printed p. 120).

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose the operating routine that suits your work.

Start with whether you sew, embroider, serge or coverstitch, then compare controls, working area, supplied tools and setup limits.